Mayor Vincent C. Gray Appoints City Administrator Allen Y. Lew to Chair DC Water Board

Mayor Vincent C. Gray Appoints City Administrator Allen Y. Lew to Chair DC Water Board

Post ID: 37000 | POSTED ON: Dec 07, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C – Today, Mayor Vincent C. Gray appointed City Administrator Allen Y. Lew as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (also known as DC Water).  Mayor Gray also re-nominated current DC Water board member and Advisory Neighborhood Commission 1C Chairman Alan Roth to another term and nominated former City Administrator Robert Mallett to the board. Both are District residents.

 “Allen Lew is uniquely qualified for this important task. I could have selected any number of people, but given the serious infrastructure issues with which DC Water is dealing and the exciting plans underway to transform the system and clean our waterways, I could think of no better individual to represent the District than Mr. Lew,” Mayor Gray said. “I’m also delighted to nominate Alan Roth and Robert Mallett to the DC Water Board; both are exceedingly well-qualified and will undoubtedly serve the District well.”

 Mayor Gray has elevated Mr. Lew to the chairman’s role from his previous position on the DC Water board as a representative of the Mayor’s Cabinet. Since joining the board, he has worked closely with other members and DC Water General Manager George Hawkins on issues related to flooding in the Bloomingdale and LeDroit Park neighborhoods. Mr. Lew has also taken a keen interest in the agency’s 10-year, $3.8 billion Capital Improvement Program (CIP). When completed, the projects included in the plan will significantly enhance the water-and-sewer-facilities infrastructure in the metropolitan Washington area and help with vitally needed cleanup of the Anacostia and Potomac Rivers.

DC Water is governed by a board of directors consisting of 11 principal and 11 alternate members. The board is composed of six representatives from the District (appointed by the Mayor), two each from Montgomery and Prince George’s counties in Maryland, and one from Fairfax County in Virginia. The Mayor also appoints the District’s six alternate board members. Mr. Lew’s appointment is effective immediately.  Roth and Mallett must be confirmed by the D.C. Council.

The following two tabs change content below.

John Lyndon

Publisher & Editor In Chief at MAYORS & CITIES Magazine
John Lyndon is the Publisher and Editor In Chief of Mayors & Cities Magazine.

You May Also Like

Post Your Comments

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.

website security