Supporting women leaders and aspirants to unleash their potentialRead more Fake medicines kill almost 500,000 sub-Saharan Africans a year: United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) reportRead more Climate crisis and migration: Greta Thunberg supports International Organization for Migration (IOM) over ‘life and death’ issueRead more United Nations (UN) Convenes Lake Chad Countries, Amid Growing Regional CrisisRead more 11 Disruptive Startups Selected for Cohort 3 of the Africa Startup Initiative Program (ASIP) Accelerator Program powered by Startupbootcamp AfricaRead more Africa Data Centres breaks ground on new Sameer facility in NairobiRead more Coffee with a human face: A union that improves livelihoods for Ugandan farmersRead more Trends Predicted to drive the retail industry in 2023Read more Vantage Capital exits Pétro IvoireRead more Afrobarometer charts path for Round 10 surveysRead more

Biden to host Jan 6 awards ceremony on 2-year anniversary

show caption
AFP Photo
Print Friendly and PDF

Jan 06, 2023 - 03:00 AM

WASHINGTON (AA) – US President Joe Biden will honor 12 people who “made exemplary contributions to our democracy surrounding” the Jan. 6, 2021, Capitol attack, the White House said Thursday.

“These 12 heroes demonstrated courage and selflessness during a moment of peril for our nation,” a White House official said in a statement.

Biden will host the White House ceremony Friday for law enforcement officers injured during the attack, election workers and state and local officials, two years after the Capitol was besieged.

. They will all receive the Presidential Citizens Medal, including former Capitol Police Officer Brian Sicknick who will receive it posthumously after he lost his life in the wake of the insurrection.

The Presidential Citizens Medal is bestowed upon those who have “performed exemplary deeds of service for their country or their fellow citizens,” according to the White House website. It was established by President Richard Nixon in 1969.

Friday’s ceremony will mark the first time Biden has awarded anyone with the medal.

About half of those who will be honored are current and former law enforcement officers, including Metropolitan Police Department Officer Michael Fanone, who has repeatedly demanded accountability for the violent riot.

Officials and election workers from key battleground states, including Michigan, Arizona, Georgia and Pennsylvania will also receive the award.

MAORANDCITIES.COM uses both Facebook and Disqus comment systems to make it easier for you to contribute. We encourage all readers to share their views on our articles and blog posts. All comments should be relevant to the topic. By posting, you agree to our Privacy Policy. We are committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion, so we ask you to avoid personal attacks, name-calling, foul language or other inappropriate behavior. Please keep your comments relevant and respectful. By leaving the ‘Post to Facebook’ box selected – when using Facebook comment system – your comment will be published to your Facebook profile in addition to the space below. If you encounter a comment that is abusive, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the Facebook comment box to report spam or abuse. You can also email us.