Ethiopia: Loan from United Nations Fund Allows Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) to Scale Up Fertilizers for Farmers in TigrayRead more How Choosing the Right Printer Helps Small Businesses and Content Creators to Save Time, Maximise Productivity and Achieve GrowthRead more The United States Contributes USD $223 Million to Help World Food Programme (WFP) Save Lives and Stave Off Severe Hunger in South SudanRead more Eritrea: World Breastfeeding WeekRead more Eritrean community festival in Scandinavian countriesRead more IOM: Uptick in Migrants Heading Home as World Rebounds from COVID-19Read more Network International & Infobip to offer WhatsApp for Business Banking Services to Financial Institution Clients across AfricaRead more Ambassador Jacobson Visits Gondar in the Amhara Region to Show Continued U.S. Support for the Humanitarian and Development Needs of EthiopiansRead more Voluntary Repatriation of Refugees from Angola to DR Congo ResumesRead more Senegal and Mauritania Are Rich in Resources, Poor in Infrastructure, Now Is the Time to Change That Read more

France reshuffles Cabinet members

show caption
Photo Credit: Jean Castex
Print Friendly and PDF

Jul 07, 2020 - 08:43 PM

PARIS (AA) – France’s new prime minister announced a Cabinet reshuffle on Monday.

Installed on Friday with the departure of his predecessor Edouard Philippe, Jean Castex has big shoes to fill as he has to ensure that those chosen will carry out the vision that President Emmanuel Macron has for the remaining three years of his term.

Castex has named new figures to certain posts while others have been retained. There are 31 ministers in total, some of them deputies, with 17 women and 14 men comprising the lot.

They will convene in their first Council of Ministers meeting on Tuesday.

As announced by the Elysee Palace, the following is the official list of ministers:

Jean-Yves Le Drian, Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs

Barbara Pompili, Minister for the Ecological Transition

Jean-Michel Blanquer, Minister of National Education, Youth and Sports

Bruno Le Maire, Minister of the Economy, Finance, and Recovery

Florence Parly, Minister of the Armed Forces

Gerald Darmanin, Minister of the Interior

Elisabeth Borne, Minister of Labor, Employment, and Integration

Sebastian Lecornu, Minister of Overseas France

Jacqueline Gourault, Minister for Territorial Cohesion and Relations with Local Authorities

Eric Dupond-Moretti, Keeper of the Seals, Minister of Justice

Roselyne Bachelot, Minister of Culture

Olivier Veran, Minister of Solidarity and Health

Annick Girardin, Minister of the Sea

Frederique Vidal, Minister of Higher Education, Research, and Innovation

Julien Denormandie, Minister of Agriculture and Food

Amelie de Montchalin, Minister of Transformation and the Public Service

The delegate ministers are as follows:

Marc Fesneau, Minister to the Prime Minister, responsible for relations with Parliament and Citizen Participation

Elizabeth Moreno, Minister to the Prime Minister, in charge of Equality Between Women and Men, Diversity and Equal Opportunities

Franck Riester, Minister to the Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, in charge of Foreign Trade and Attractiveness

Emmanuelle Wargon, Minister to the Minister for the Ecological Transition, in charge of Housing

Jean-Baptiste Djebbari, Minister to the Minister for the Ecological Transition, in charge of Transport

Olivier Dussopt, Minister to the Minister of the Economy, in charge of Public Accounts

Agnes Pannier-Runnacher, Minister to the Minister of the Economy, in charge of Industry

Alain Griset, Minister to the Minister of the Economy, in charge of Small- and Medium-Sized Enterprises

Roxana Maracineanu, Minister to the Minister of National Education, responsible for Sports

Genvieve Darrieussecq, Minister to the Minister of the Armed Forces, in charge of Memory and Veterans

Marlene Schiappa, Minister to the Minister of the Interior, responsible for Citizenship

Brigitte Klinkert, Minister to the Minister of Labor, in Charge of Integration

Nadia Hai, Minister to the Minister for Territorial Cohesion, responsible for the City

Brigitte Bourguignon, Minister to the Minister of Solidarity and Health, responsible for Autonomy

Gabriel Attal, Secretary of State to the Prime Minister, spokesperson for the government


MAORANDCITIES.COM uses both Facebook and Disqus comment systems to make it easier for you to contribute. We encourage all readers to share their views on our articles and blog posts. All comments should be relevant to the topic. By posting, you agree to our Privacy Policy. We are committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion, so we ask you to avoid personal attacks, name-calling, foul language or other inappropriate behavior. Please keep your comments relevant and respectful. By leaving the ‘Post to Facebook’ box selected – when using Facebook comment system – your comment will be published to your Facebook profile in addition to the space below. If you encounter a comment that is abusive, click the “X” in the upper right corner of the Facebook comment box to report spam or abuse. You can also email us.